### **USAA 1st Annual USITCC®**

### **Highlights and Winner Circle**

By Kevin Jetton, Foundation for IT Education VP & Event Planner (as of April 18, 2018)

The Foundation for IT Education along with title sponsor USAA held the debut of the U.S. IT Collegiate Conference or USITCC April 6-7, 2018 in San Antonio at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel. The new event was held in conjunction with ISECON 2018 – the Information Systems Education Conference and successfully facilitated a dual conference opportunity for faculty attendees which many took advantage of!

The event could not be successful without the support of our sponsors and more which included:

**Title Sponsor:** USAA

**Sponsors:** College Raptor, COMMON, Our Lady of the Lake University,

University of Houston, WraySec

**Exhibitors:** Accenture, Texas State University **Contributors:** IBM, ICCP, Visit San Antonio

Special thanks go to the co-hosting schools Texas State University and Our Lady of the Lake University. Additionally, the AITP San Antonio chapter provided all the contest proctors and assisted in both providing all the awesome conference speakers.

A total of 30 colleges and universities attended the event including 3 students from American University in Cairo, Egypt and belong to their AIS Student chapter!

**Attendance:** 

- 225 Student Attendees
  - 35 Faculty Attendees
  - 24 Sponsors, Speakers and Exhibitors
  - 2 IT Professionals attending the conference
  - 8 USITCC Committee members and staff
  - 6 Judges, Proctors & Volunteers
- 2 Guests
- 302 Total "pre-audited" Attendance from 31 Colleges & Universities

Merit Award:

#### **Top "Performing School" Award**

Presented to Georgia Gwinnett College for achieving the most USITCC conference wins overall based on a weighted scale.

A total of nine (9) IT competition events were available for the student attendees to choose from each of which was staffed with a volunteer contest coordinator and judging team. The problem statements were challenging yet students rose to the occasion for the bragging rights to claim placing at a national IT competition event and were presented with medals, trophies and certificates and a winner photo! The conference awards banquet photo gallery can be viewed via this link: <a href="https://maciasphotography.smugmug.com/Public-Galleries/USITCC2018">https://maciasphotography.smugmug.com/Public-Galleries/USITCC2018</a>

Plans are already underway for the 2019 USITCC event so stay tuned to the USITCC website once the dates and location are finalized but for now – save the date: <u>April 4-6, 2019</u> in Galveston, Texas at the San Luis Resort and Galveston Convention Center on Galveston Island.

# **USAA 1st Annual USITCC®**

## **Highlights and Winner Circle**

By Kevin Jetton, Foundation for IT Education VP & Event Planner (as of April 18, 2018)

		,	<i>v</i> 1
Datab	ase Design Contest (39 teams)		
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup> HM's	Georgia Gwinnett College Georgia Gwinnett College Georgia Gwinnett College Sam Houston State University University of Iowa Georgia Gwinnett College	Robert Westervelt Bess Burnett Neal Klemenc Johan Shirazi Shangguan Wang Steven Beteag	Chelsea D'Alessandro Johanna Timmer Joseph Tsegaye Nhi Do Yunyi Li Jarrod Bailey
Micro	soft Office Solutions Contest (52 teams)		
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	University of Iowa Oklahoma Panhandle State University Cameron University Amarillo College Missouri State University	Ashley Arkfeld Martin Jurado Michele Tilley Samantha Raleigh Noah Baumann	Emma Keefe Madilyn Rider Danielle Sims Justin Tolley Lino Perez
Business Analytics Contest (19 teams) sponsored by CollegeRaptor			
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	University of Houston University of Iowa University of Iowa Purdue University Oklahoma Panhandle State University	Daniel Flores Shangguan Wang Rachel Burnett Matthew Kerner Melody Ethley	Manny Guerrero Yunyi Li Ashley Arkfeld Brandon Zammit Madilyn Rider
Netwo	rk Design Contest (25 teams)		
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup> HM	University of Wisconsin – Stout University of Wisconsin – Stout Ball State University Waukesha County Technical College	Jack Moore Pierce Lannue Cameron Gall Bailey Kroll	Tyler Elwood Stephen Felton Chloe Payant Paul Folsom
Annlia	eation Development (33 teams)		
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup> HM's	Oklahoma Panhandle State University Amarillo College Missouri Western State University Waukesha County Technical College	Jakob Popple Cailynn White Awais Khan Jake Zuehike	Sean Skipton Antonio Cristobal
Systen	ns Analysis & Design Contest (21 teams)		
1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Oklahoma Panhandle State University Northwestern State University of Louisiana Purdue University Purdue University Missouri State University	Martin Jurado Nick Fisher Matthew Kerner William Gomez Noah Baumann	Elias Pitterle Alba Maloof Nicholas Noonan Kayla Rux Jared Danielson

# **USAA 1st Annual USITCC®**

### **Highlights and Winner Circle**

By Kevin Jetton, Foundation for IT Education VP & Event Planner (as of April 18, 2018)

#### PC Troubleshooting (84 contestants)

1 <sup>st</sup>	University of Wisconsin – Stout	Pierce Lannue
$2^{nd}$	University of Wisconsin – Stout	Stephen Felton
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Waukesha County Technical College	Joshua Schulz
HM's	Northwestern State University of Louisiana	Grant Rolon
	Texas State University	Joseph Barmore
	Missouri State University	Nash Fritsche
	Oklahoma Panhandle State University	Sean Skipton
	Oklahoma Panhandle State University	Grant Sparkman
	Missouri State University	Lino Perez
	Missouri State University	John Rain

#### Mobile Application Development (11 teams) sponsored by USAA

1 <sup>st</sup>	Georgia Gwinnett College	Daniel Sales	Bess Burnett
	0		

2<sup>nd</sup> Amarillo College Oscar Thipphakhinkeo

3<sup>rd</sup> Georgia Gwinnett College Neal Klemenc Joseph Tsegay

HM's University of Mississippi Dylan Reithel

#### Security (77 contestants) with sponsored by WraySec

$1^{st}$	Georgia Gwinnett College	Michael Strickland
$2^{nd}$	Oklahoma Panhandle State University	Sean Skipton
$3^{rd}$	Texas State University	Tyler Ellison
HM's	Oklahoma Panhandle State University	Grant Sparkman
	Waukesha County Technical College	Paul Folsom
	University of Houston	Varun Maheshwari

Waukesha County Technical College Siva Prasad

# USAA 1<sup>st</sup> Annual USITCC®

### **Highlights and Winner Circle**

By Kevin Jetton, Foundation for IT Education VP & Event Planner (as of April 18, 2018)

#### **COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES IN ATTENDANCE (30)**

Amarillo College

American University - Cairo Egypt

Ball State University

Cameron University

Chattahoochee Technical College

Eastern Connecticut State University

Fayetteville Technical Community College

Florida Keys Community College

Georgia Gwinnett College

Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Kent State University at Ashtabula

Millikin University

Missouri State University-Springfield

Missouri Western State University

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Oklahoma Panhandle State University

Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology

Our Lady of the Lake University

Purdue University

Quinnipiac University

Sam Houston State University

Tarleton State University

Texas State University

University of Houston

University of Iowa

University of Mississippi

University of North Alabama

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

University of Wisconsin-Stout

Waukesha County Technical College